Logo
Search this site:
Stay Informed:  Please enter your e-mail address below:

Become Active

Contact Us


Donate


ACTION ALERT

We could use your help. If you are interested in making a corporate donation, please e-mail Michael Robinson. As always, thank you for your generous support!

2009 Conference Reviews

The Domestic Violence Conference of the Decade!

From Ideology to Inclusion 2009:  New directions in domestic violence research and intervention (June 26-28, 2009, Los Angeles, California)

From Ideology to Inclusion 2009:
New Directions in Domestic Violence Research and Intervention

When:Friday-Sunday, June 26-28, 2009
Where:Los Angeles, California
Brochure:PDF Brochure with Abstracts

The conference was a resounding success!

Most of those who presented serve on the editorial board of the new peer-reviewed journal, Partner Abuse, published quarterly by Springer publishing. For more information, go to springerpub.com/pa.


Reviews (10):

  1. July 28, 2009, 12:01 AM
    Many thanks for a sensational conference, full of stimulating discussion and energizing to hear of the refocus toward male victims. Thank you so much for the collegial environment and your foresight into shifting the ideology. I look forward to returning next year, all going well.
    Elizabeth Celi, Ph.D
    Psychologist & Author
    Elements Integrated Health Consulting
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Australia
    Attended: 2009
  2. July 24, 2009, 1:11 PM
    An outstanding and pioneering conference focusing on critical issues of partner violence. Presenters were an excellent group of highly respected and reknown national and international researchers and practitioners. The framework was balanced, sophisticated and grounded in scientific findings. I trust this valuable program will continue.
    Martin Fiebert, Ph.D.
    Professor of Psychology
    California State University, Long Beach
    Seal Beach, California
    Attended: 2008
  3. July 10, 2009, 10:13 AM
    The choice of hotel for the conference was excellent. The rooms, food, service, [and] accessibility were wonderful.

    I was impressed with the variety of workshops and presenters, and with the diversity of attendees' disciplines.

    Sandra Smith and Eric McCollum's presentation was particularly powerful and helpful in terms of the overall content, practical information, and their work to make their program accepted by the "DV community."

    New York state sorely needs a conference of this caliber and content. We are too often offered only the same presenters going over the same "party line propoganda." Michael [Robinson] talked with us about this. Thank you, Michael, for your extremely timely support.
    Carole Fox, MA
    Partner/Counselor
    Project Equality
    Albany, NY
    Attended: 2009
  4. July 10, 2009, 8:36 AM
    One of the best conferences in the area of domestic violence. A "Star-studded" event with all the researchers that have helped develop the field. I like the high caliber of presenters and narrowing the choices of the breakouts.

    The facility was convenient and hospitable. The food and snacks were abundent, tasteful.

    The conference overall was refreshing and solidified what I see in the field on a day-to-day basis, giving me new tools and approaches to take in working in the area of DV.

    Attendee
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Attended: 2009
  5. July 9, 2009, 8:08 PM
    This was my first CAFC conference and I am so glad I attended. The speakers were exceptional — tops in the field. The information shared was ground-breaking and vital for everyone who works in the field. I learned a great deal, which I am already using in my practice with clients. I also met several professional colleagues from all over the world that I fully intend to keep in touch with in the future. It was a great experience in all aspects, including the food! And if all this weren't enough, there were 17 hours of CEUs available to meet mandatory CEU requirements for domestic violence. I would recommend this conference to everyone in the field — and if you missed it, get a hold of the DVDs!
    Psychotherapist, Group Facilitator
    Orange County, California
    Attended: 2009
  6. July 8, 2009, 8:22 PM
    This was the BEST conference yet on intimate partner abuse. I plan to not only use what I've learned in working with clients, but also share information with local judges, attorneys and probation officers. Thank you!
    Attendee
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Attended: 2009 2008 2007
  7. July 8, 2009, 11:13 AM
    A fascinating array of presentations that pitted researchers and practicioners working to the same ends together. The accomplished presenters provided useful research, reflected innovative, fresh approaches and the conference was quite professionally presented. I came as a law student, and I was struck by the disparity of current legal and social policy practices which run against the tenor and tone of what was collectively presented at the conference. In fact I was struck by how the very lectures, texts and guests on this subject which we are exposed to in law school mirror virtually none of the findings and understandings presented at this conference. I found useful the research on treatment programs, discussions about arrest policies and procedures and contemplations that we can and should be doing a better job of dealing with this social issue.

    For my own interests I would like to have seen the relationship between the law and treatment addressed specifically. Either how best to educate people in law enforcement and working in the courts, as well as how best to effect policies that reflect the research. It would also have been interesting to have a presenter who worked in law enforcement . Lastly, would have liked to have seen one more group panel which could field questions, or have a moderator asking directed and tough questions as they relate to shaping policy.

    But understanding that this was primarily for those involved with research, and those on the front lines providing assistance to victims and perpetrators this was a remarkably informative, intense conference which was well worth it. Many thanks and I admire and appreciate the enormous efforts of the organizers and the presenters.

    Student
    Whittier School of Law
    Costa Mesa, CA
    Attended: 2009
  8. July 7, 2009, 10:31 PM
    Having been in the field of psychology for over fifteen years, I have had the opportunity to participate in and/or attend approximately fifty seminars. I felt that this conference was clearly in the top ten! This conference should be mandatory for all students and therapists working in the challenging field of domestic violence and family advocacy.

    Important research was reviewed that established evidence that family violence cannot be sterotyped and that each instance should be therapeutically treated with the same respect we provide to individual clients.

    The fact that both men and women have been victims of violence throughout the generations can no longer be ignored. It was clear, from the research presented, that better assistance is needed to address the needs of all victims of violence: male or female, child or adult.

    This conference provided guest speakers from around the globe with incredable insights regarding the topic. Some of the highlights for me were:
    • The discussions about the development of attachment and its role in the adult intimate relationship
    • Trauma and the impact on brain development in infants
    • Exciting new pathways working with mothers and infants at risk, as a prevention of potential familial violence
    Thank you sincerely for putting on a conference that was so well thought out, with excellent research, passionate speakers and great ideas for new methods of intervention! (Sorry to be so long-winded, but so much was covered. What a great experience!)
    Lori Harral, Psy.D.
    Clinical Psychologist
    Super Social Skills
    Murrieta, CA
    Attended: 2009
  9. July 7, 2009, 10:51 AM
    This was an excellent conference! I was so impressed by the line-up of speakers, as it captured so many leading voices within the field of intimate partner violence. I really appreciated the diversity of topics, along with the different areas of research that were covered. I definitely left feeling enriched, and look forward to next year's conference!
    Kimberly Flemke, PhD
    Asst. Professor, Couple & Family Therapy Dept.
    Drexel
    Philadelphia, PA
    Attended: 2009
  10. July 6, 2009, 6:20 PM
    Nice to get a different perspective. I thought the conference and accomodations were very professionally done. Thanks!
    Marriage and Family therapist
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Attended: 2009 2008
  11. July 6, 2009, 2:55 PM
    Excellent conference. A good balance between research and practice. I appreciated that everyone's presentation was based on new and innovative ideas, rather than the same old recycled material. This conference put forth two incredibly important messages:
    1. Violence by both members of the couple is quite common. Professionals can't assume that one person is solely the victim and the other the perpetrator.
    2. Treatment needs to be assessment-based, in that cookie-cutter approaches will not address the full range of causes of violence with any individual/couple.
    Well done!
    Daniel Sonkin, Ph.D.
    Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist
    Independent Practice
    Sausalito, CA
    Attended: 2009